Can I add a new type of railway station to the DB?

For bug reports and fixes, installation issues, and new ideas for technical features.

Moderator: SEOW Developers

Post Reply
EJGr.Ost_Chamel
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun 14 Jan 2007 11:37 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Can I add a new type of railway station to the DB?

Post by EJGr.Ost_Chamel »

Hi guys,

I would like to add some railway stations to the Normandy map. Most values are easy to determine (Station_Name, Platform_Start_X, Platform_Start_Y, Platform_Finish_X, Platform_Finish_Y, Target_X, Target_Y, Target_Z). But many of the stations do not match type 1 or type 5, which are the common types of railway stations in SEOW. (On the crimea map there exist some stations of a type "2", but they don't have a scheme in common, so I think it's a kind of improvisation!?).

Here some screenshots:

Example of the type of station I'd like to add (single track):
Image

Type 1 (two tracks):
Image

Type 5 (six tracks):
Image

What do I have to do to add these stations to the database? Can I define a new type of railway station and how? Are there any dependencies with other tables?

Thanks for any answer
Chamel
IV/JG7_4Shades
Posts: 2203
Joined: Mon 08 Jan 2007 11:10 pm
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Post by IV/JG7_4Shades »

Hi Chamel,

Years ago we thought we would handle railway stations like airbases, with layouts etc. But now that the train code is done, I have revised the DB tables for railway stations. There will be no layouts! The only table required for station definition is Railway_Stations. Furthermore, the Platform_Start and Platform_Finish fields are now not used. Only the Target fields are used, for bombng target placement only. I think even the Station_Type field is not really used now either.

So a "Station" can be put anywhere along a track, so long as you define the target placement coordinates. You can build your own stations using scenery objects. Much simplified!

Cheers,
4S
IV/JG7_4Shades
SEOW Developer

Image
=gRiJ=Petr
Posts: 116
Joined: Tue 28 Jul 2009 6:39 am

Post by =gRiJ=Petr »

Hi Camel,

I would be very interested in using the updated map as I'm in the process of designing a very historically accurate Normandy campaign.

Which extra RR stations do you have in mind?

What would it take to be able to use this new map in SEOW?

Thanks!

Best,
Petr
EJGr.Ost_Chamel
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun 14 Jan 2007 11:37 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by EJGr.Ost_Chamel »

Hi Shades + Petr,

with Shades' hints it was now very easy to complete the new railway stations for Normandy! :D
I defined every place as station, where there is a platform alongside a railway track. This raises the concentration of stations to a level, that I regard as acceptable for playing with the "Load/Unload Heavy Rail Freight Only at Rail Stations" option switched on. Although there are still some surprising gaps - for example no station at Vimoutier (L4).
I chose to give the new station type the number "0" (seems that it doesn't matter anyway) and a fuel capacity and fuel holding of both "0" too. From my point of view these small stations are no supply depots but just stopping points with a bare minimum infrastructure.
This causes the system to show a strange hint for the stations of this type ("Supply: 0 litres (NaN %)"):
Image
But it seems to work.
Here is the SQL-code to add the stations to a database (+fix one faulty coordinate I found by chance):
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
/* Add new railway stations to Normandy map */
INSERT INTO Railway_Stations VALUES ('0', 'Valognes Station', 'Normandy', '2002', '98600', '2101', '98699', 'Operational', '', 'r', '2057', '98643', '495', '0', '0');
INSERT INTO Railway_Stations VALUES ('1', 'Coutances Station', 'Normandy', '2697', '50102', '2597', '50003', 'Operational', '', 'r', '2652', '50069', '675', '10000', '10000');
INSERT INTO Railway_Stations VALUES ('0', 'Chef-du-Pont Station', 'Normandy', '9697', '85166', '9697', '85026', 'Operational', '', 'r', '9689', '85097', '630', '0', '0');
INSERT INTO Railway_Stations VALUES ('0', 'St-Come-du-Mont Station', 'Normandy', '14750', '79642', '14849', '79543', 'Operational', '', 'r', '14794', '79587', '585', '0', '0');
INSERT INTO Railway_Stations VALUES ('5', 'Isigny Station', 'Normandy', '26777', '78427', '26623', '78581', 'Operational', '', 'r', '26712', '78513', '405', '50000', '50000');
INSERT INTO Railway_Stations VALUES ('0', 'Villers-Bocage Station', 'Normandy', '56175', '51367', '56274', '51466', 'Operational', '', 'r', '56230', '51411', '495', '0', '0');
INSERT INTO Railway_Stations VALUES ('0', 'Nonant-le-Pin Station', 'Normandy', '58105', '69508', '58105', '69648', 'Operational', '', 'r', '58113', '69578', '450', '0', '0');
INSERT INTO Railway_Stations VALUES ('0', 'Langrune-sur-Mer Station', 'Normandy', '77705', '78454', '77705', '78315', 'Operational', '', 'r', '77713', '78384', '630', '0', '0');
INSERT INTO Railway_Stations VALUES ('0', 'Cambes Station', 'Normandy', '77906', '67760', '77882', '74892', 'Operational', '', 'r', '77914', '67831', '450', '0', '0');
INSERT INTO Railway_Stations VALUES ('0', 'Douvres-la-Delivrande Station', 'Normandy', '77981', '74991', '77906', '67901', 'Operational', '', 'r', '77926', '74947', '675', '0', '0');
INSERT INTO Railway_Stations VALUES ('1', 'Putanges-Pont-Ecrepin Station', 'Normandy', '83641', '15646', '83542', '15547', 'Operational', '', 'r', '83597', '15614', '675', '10000', '10000');
INSERT INTO Railway_Stations VALUES ('0', 'Demouville Station', 'Normandy', '86973', '60578', '86874', '60479', 'Operational', '', 'g', '86917', '60534', '675', '0', '0');
INSERT INTO Railway_Stations VALUES ('1', 'Cabourg-Sud Station', 'Normandy', '94704', '73206', '94704', '73346', 'Operational', '', 'g', '94712', '73261', '450', '10000', '10000');
INSERT INTO Railway_Stations VALUES ('1', 'Cabourg-Nord Station', 'Normandy', '94781', '74176', '94880', '74274', 'Operational', '', 'g', '94825', '74208', '495', '10000', '10000');
INSERT INTO Railway_Stations VALUES ('1', 'Argences Station', 'Normandy', '98617', '61904', '98477', '61904', 'Operational', '', 'g', '98563', '61912', '360', '10000', '10000');
INSERT INTO Railway_Stations VALUES ('0', 'Pont-Audemer Station', 'Normandy', '138431', '81636', '138332', '81537', 'Operational', '', 'g', '138376', '81592', '675', '0', '0');
INSERT INTO Railway_Stations VALUES ('0', 'Saint-Georges-du-Vievre Station', 'Normandy', '142697', '69878', '142697', '69739', 'Operational', '', 'g', '142689', '69808', '630', '0', '0');

/* Fix inccorect Platform_Start_Y-value at St Lo Station */
UPDATE Railway_Stations SET Platform_Start_Y = 52619 WHERE Station_Name = 'St Lo_Station';
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hope this helps! 8)
Chamel
EJGr.Ost_Chamel
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun 14 Jan 2007 11:37 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by EJGr.Ost_Chamel »

Oh, I got one more question!
IV/JG7_4Shades wrote:Only the Target fields are used, for bombng target placement only.
So units can be tasked to bomb a station? Didn't know that!
What happens, when a station is destroyed? Does it become inoperational?

Chamel Image
IV/JG7_4Shades
Posts: 2203
Joined: Mon 08 Jan 2007 11:10 pm
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Post by IV/JG7_4Shades »

Hmm, it should lose any supply it is storing and also become unavailable for loading/unloading heavy freight (if that option was chosen). I can't remember checking all this though!

Cheers,
4S
IV/JG7_4Shades
SEOW Developer

Image
=gRiJ=Petr
Posts: 116
Joined: Tue 28 Jul 2009 6:39 am

Post by =gRiJ=Petr »

Thanks a lot m8!
Cheers!
Petr
Post Reply